I’m on the phone. Working. #iOS productivity 

I doubt there’s anyone who uses their device as productively as I do anywhere in South Africa. 

There are thousands of smartphones in the market but there are really two mobile operating systems which are the basis for most purchase decisions. I was a late Blackberry user, I loved it. The functions of a computer in my palm was truly empowering, I didn’t need to go to a stuffy Internet cafe in Braamfontein where you’d spend half your time waiting for Internet Explorer to launch and the other half opening a simple html version of Google. This was quite an achievement by Blackberry; document processing, emails, unrestricted downloads, pre-whatsapp Instant Messaging was all good for us poor people especially. The app world wasn’t so fresh though, even back then you could see RIM was doomed. 

I migrated to iOS almost naturally as I was already sold on Mac at design school.  I saw some skating footage shot on iPhone, got attracted by the sexy design of the handset. We did some research about the intergration between hardware and software that makes for a far more fluid, secure and stable experience which you’d appreciate if you realize how much of a role your mobile plays in your life. 

The user interface was/is beautiful, almost transparent, the first buttonless phone and the first to make so many traditionally tedious functions seamless and intuitive. These mofoz had done their research, they’d studied the human mind and placed everything where your brain expected it to be and made it work how an intelligent life would. It was no doubt that the hardware was awesome, a great platform for app developers to really go wild. Go wild they did, the AppStore had more apps than the Android Playstore (and paid more people) and due to security hoops you’d jump to get an app on iOS there was a guarantee of the app being reliable. I was also by the revolutionary backstory to how Steve Jobs changed the music industry with iTunes. (I blame record label monopoly for the success of idiots we call artists today.) 

Most apps also played well with each other, the native apps weren’t hard to setup and had a secondary feature that came in handy like how they “hyperlink” a number, address or date and offer options to add/call/text that number, open that address in maps or check your calendar from wherever you’re at. It was truly the first to give us the ability to share any content across most platforms right from where you’re at without copying and pasting…

 

My iPhone 4s is a digital Frankenstein; I’ve broken the display twice and replaced my self, the battery has been replaced twice, headphone and speaker modules aren’t geniune  Apple replaceable parts. This is primarily because Apple doesn’t ship parts to anyone but Apple stores.  I managed to find the most decent parts supplier in the country down in dirty Durban though. 


If you see me on my iPhone don’t assume I’m chatting or playing on some social media app. I’ve ctually removed all of them from my device when I discovered they’re the biggest battery hogs, and serious weapons of mass distraction.  I think no body uses their device more productivily than I do, in the country.  In my tax bracket. 🤘🏽💪🏾😁 Typical daily uses include but not limited to;

  1. Once a week I check if the #AppOfTheWeek offer isn’t worth getting
  2. Edit WordPress blogs 
  3. Compose, Collaborate on documents via Google Docs, and arrange Google Drive 😊
  4. Read articles I saved in my reader lists or iBooks ealier 
  5. Compose, edit or reply to emails (switching between signatured accounts easily) 
  6. Composing step-by-step guides for my Tech clients 
  7. Editing images for a number of marketing reasons 
  8. Designing vector graphics on apps like Assembly
  9. And other traditional productivity stuff like calendaring, task lists in wunderlist, updating the address book, and updating my profile on networks like LinkedIn.

The above are just what I’ve sucked out my thumb, I believe the hallmark of productivity is being able to do anything with great ease and in good time.  iOS is awesome because of little gestures and invisible features which you may take for granted until you have to use a less elegant operating system like  android. 

Peace 

Leave a Reply

